Mother’s Day in Japan changed the way I feel about holidays

mothers day
Stricking the Blue Steel for last year’s Mother’s Day

Tomorrow will mark my third Mother’s Day in Japan. I won’t get a Mother’s Day brunch or flowers from my hubs. At most, I’ll sit my sidekick down and together we’ll make me a card. That’s because Mother’s Day in Japan is strictly for celebrating your own mother, not the mother of your children.

I’ll admit when my first Mother’s Day rolled around I was pretty disappointed at the lack of acknowledgement, but stoically said nothing to my husband. I later told my own mother, who in her unwavering support, was offended for me. But it’s all good now. I can’t expect someone who was not raised in my culture to miraculously recreate it. And so, instead of pining after how it would have been celebrated in my home country, I’ve embraced how it is celebrated here. After all, it’s all just consumerism on steroids, right?
The same goes for V-day. My hubs gets homemade chocolate on February 14, and I’m supposed to get a return gift on March 14th for White Day (traditionally marshmallows, but no one does that anymore). He forgot this year though, but don’t worry, I made sure to speak up this time!

And Christmas. I buy all the stocking stuffers for my fam, including my own. Japan doesn’t even do stocking stuffers, so it is my attempt to pass down a bit of the nostalgia to my child. I figure it’s my responsibility.

Additionally, we’ve added on traditional Japanese holidays like Hinamatsuri (Girl’s Day) and New Years traditions. Holidays leave such lasting memories and are something to look forward to with excitement throughout the year, so it is truly my pleasure to be able to do it for my sidekick.

I am looking forward to adding a few Indian holidays to our repertoire. Stay tuned ❤

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day in Japan changed the way I feel about holidays

Add yours

    1. Oops, I’ve just realized Mother’s Day is not the 13th (today), but the 14th (tomorrow).

      White Day is March 14th. It is the follow-up to Valentine’s Day. V-day is strictly for girls to give presents to guys (recently, though, a lot of them choose to give it to girlfriends instead), typically handmade chocolate. Then they have to wait one month for guys to reciprocate it on March 14th (guys give to girls only). The practice was started by candy companies to sell marshmallows under the guise that women deserve a return present. The return presents are supposed to be 2-3 times the estimated cost of the received presents, so really–consumerism! I believe this practice has spread to most East Asian countries.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

